Mail_new Print

WTF is up with this malware-scan ad/site?

By incubus_of_habit

Why is curbly accepting advertising from this advertiser? It keeps co-opting my firefox even when ad-block installed. Please remove them from your advertising list.



Did you like this article?




November 09, 2007
4 comments  |  805 views  | 
Heart 0

Rss_blue Comments

Picture_009_thumb

bruno

November 12, 2007

Ok, after doing some more research, it looks like this may not be a trojan after all. What we're experiencing seems very similar to what is described here (WARNING, article contains links to sites which may infext your computer, don't click on them): http://www.dynamoo.com/diary/malware-scan-newbieadguide-com-hijack.htm

Basically, a banner ad that is getting served up through Google AdSense takes over the browser and redirects you to this malware site. I'm trying to get in touch to Google to makesure they stop serving this ad, but in the meantime, please be patient and DON'T INSTALL any software from untrusted soures. Thanks,

Bruno 

Picture_009_thumb

bruno

November 10, 2007

Looks like we may be dealing with some variant of the trojan described here. If you're experiencing these pop-ups, please send me an e-mail at bruno AT curbly.com. Please make sure to note which operating system and browser you're using, as well as the page on which you saw the ads (if you know it). 

Picture_009_thumb

bruno

November 10, 2007
Hey guys, we're looking into this, but it's not the result of any ads we've accepted. It appears to be due to a virus that's going around that replaces legitimate ads with these bogus popup ads. I'll keep investigating and keep you updated.
Img_1549_thumb

Chrisjob

November 10, 2007
It's happening to me, too. I'm sure this is an error, and Bruno will fix it ASAP.

Add a Comment!